Crockpot Chicken a-la King

This was my first time making Chicken a la King that didn’t involve opening a can of it and tossing it in the microwave. The closest thing to “cooking” I came on that one was baking the biscuits which really doesn’t count either since those also came out of a can.  I must say that version is very tasty, but I thought I would give this a try on my own and I was pretty happy with the results. My whole family loved it so I knew I had to add it to my list of go-to recipes. I prefer this served over biscuits, but you could also have this over pasta, toast or rice. Picture to follow soon!

This recipe is a combination of several others. I tweaked it to suit my family’s tastes a little better and since I don’t have a lot of time, I let my crockpot do the cooking. You may prefer to cook your chicken prior to putting it in the crockpot, but I usually add mine raw.

  • 1.5 lbs. chicken breast, thawed
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 2 oz. jar chopped pimentos
  • 1 4 oz. can sliced mushrooms
  • 1 tbsp. butter
  • 10.5 oz. cream of celery soup
  • 10.5 oz. cream of chicken soup
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup celery, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup green pepper, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp. oil
  • 1 tsp. dried thyme
  • 1 tsp. dried parsley
  • 1 tsp. salt & pepper
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  1. In a crockpot combine both soups, butter, cream, pimentos, mushrooms, thyme, parsley, salt and pepper.
  2. Meanwhile saute the onion, green pepper, celery and garlic in oil, until tender then add to crockpot.
  3. Place chicken in crockpot and cook on low for 4 to 6  hours.
  4. Once chicken is cooked through and has become tender, use a fork to break up or shred the chicken.
  5. Add frozen peas and allow to cook 1 hour.
  6. Serve over biscuits, toast, pasta or rice.
Leave a Reply

